Hello,

I am extremely new to this...this is my first apk file actually. I downloaded the file, followed the instructions exactly (don't laugh) as they basically just said "type this link into your browser". The file downloaded with no problems but when I tapped it to continue to the next step of installation an error came up saying "Can't open file". I have also transferred the file to the phone from laptop to see if that would help...still can't open the file. I have a Droid Turbo 2 running Andriod 6.0 Marshmallow.

Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated! Thank you!
    09-14-2016 01:42 PM
    You got to start somewhere Welcome to Android Central. APK files are compressed files like zip or rar files and used to install apps. By default, Android only allows installation of apps from Google. This is to protect you from downloading apps that could compromise your device. Google Play apps install automatically but a file manager is required to install apks from other sites.
    Go to Google Play and get Astro File Manager or ES File Explorer and install.
    Go to Settings, security, and allow installation of unknown apps.
    I'm not sure if there is a file manager on your device. Skip the first step if there is
    Laura Knotek likes this.
    09-14-2016 03:28 PM
    Yes, we do...I use to think I was tech savvy back in the day when things were simple Thank you for your response! I'll try this!!
    09-15-2016 01:56 PM
    That worked like a charm! Thank you so much!!
    09-15-2016 02:26 PM
    You're welcome
    09-15-2016 04:10 PM
    You got to start somewhere Welcome to Android Central. APK files are compressed files like zip or rar files and used to install apps. By default, Android only allows installation of apps from Google. This is to protect you from downloading apps that could compromise your device. Google Play apps install automatically but a file manager is required to install apks from other sites.