Does S7 have a volume on/off button or switch?

A

AC Question

Hello from a newbie here and new to Samsung mobile phones. I recently switched from an iPhone and have some basic beginner's questions, starting with this one.

Is there a way to switch off the sound with one tap, or do you have to hold the volume button until the volume level drops to the bottom and vice versa to get the sound back on? (The iPhone had a switch on the side of the phone which made it easy to silence the phone at night and switch the sound back on in the morning.)

I have the pdf of the user manual but could not find this info there.

TIA

TenshiNo

Aug 2, 2010
Visit site
There is not a physical switch like the iPhone. You can, however, pull down the notification panel, then tap the speaker icon at the top to toggle between Normal/Vibrate/Mute sound profiles.

pkcable

Q&A Team Leader, VR Expert
Ambassador
Jun 8, 2010
Visit site
Some Android models DO have such a button, the One Plus models for example have what they call a Priority switch which has 3 settings, all (which means you get all notices, Priority, which you set and usually is set for JUST calls, and off which silences all notifications) My One Plus Three is almost always on the middle "priority" setting. :)

MobileNick

Oct 20, 2012
Visit site
There are other options for Android which IMO are even better than the physical switch if your volume on/off behavior intent will follow a schedule. There are apps like Tasker or Setting Profiles which let you change sounds automatically based on certain parameters such as time of day (volume to zero at 9pm and back loud at 7am, etc.) or even location.

I have used Setting Profile for years to define my volume based on cell tower location - when I am near my "home" area it automatically goes loud and when I leave "home" area it automatically goes to vibrate. A little learning curve up front but works quite nicely :)

LaurieDutch

Oct 4, 2016
Visit site