Why does android keep adding apps and features I don't want?

aratchetman1

Mar 12, 2017
Visit site
I've been using Android phones since 2009. X10, S3, S5, note4. Every update makes the device perform more poorly and nag me more. Every app want's to start notifying me about all sorts of things that I don't care about. Bluetooth for example starts scanning automatically every time it's switched on. Maps tries to download all sorts of links onto the map when I'm just trying to get my job done. Meanwhile it's so slow because of all the automatic nonsense I don't want and can't control. I hate Android so much that I would even use an Apple phone. Do I have to root my phone and use a custom ROM to get some measure of control? If only there was a 3rd player.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! You can prevent Bluetooth or wi-fi scanning from turning on by refusing any time the phone asks you if you want to improve accuracy. With Google Maps, if you do this once, it shouldn't ask you again. When I want to use more precise location, I manually switch Location from Battery Saving to High Accuracy (which doesn't automatically turn on the scanning options).

I'm not sure what links Maps is trying to download. Are you talking about how it shows your contacts on the map, or upcoming appointments? Or perhaps it's trying to download your area as an Offline area? Open Maps, tap Menu>Offline Areas, then tap the gear icon, and try turning off those options.