How do you keep Gmail messages while clearing them off your phone?

JSmith125

Mar 20, 2017
Visit site
I've been all over this and other forums hoping to find this answer, but every related discussion I find is about something slightly different from what I want to do. My principal e-mail is a Gmail account. Normally I work in it through a browser or a Thunderbird client on my computer, NOT through my phone. But I installed Gmail on my phone so I could occasionally check e-mail from other locations. I repeat, it is not my usual way of checking e-mail.

The problem is that the e-mail messages that have accumulated are taking up all my phone's memory. I don't need any of them stored on the phone and would like to delete them all. HOWEVER, I want to do this without deleting them from my Gmail account. I would like to delete them from the phone but still have them all right where i left them if I check Gmail through Chrome, Thunderbird, etc. In other words, I want to make deletions from the phone that do not propagate to any other device or client.

As I say, I've seen discussions of this issue that don't quite get at what I'm trying to do, and I don't want to follow the wrong advice and permanently lose all these messages.

I've got an RCA G1 running Android 4.4. The app is called "Gmail" and has an icon that looks like an envelope lined in red. I do not have it set to "Sync Gmail" because I'm concerned that doing so would cause the propagation I'm trying to prevent. Also, I've tried running a couple of tests, deleting just individual messages on the phone. The deleted messages go to "Trash," and this action propagates to other clients and devices. What I want is to delete them from the phone altogether, so they no longer take up phone memory, BUT have nothing happen to them (no deletion, no "Trash," nothing) anywhere else.