Why is Andriod so fragmented?

A

AC Question

OK so I'm a newbie, until 3 weeks ago I'd never used an Android device and hadn't really looked at this ecosystem, some aspects of this have come as a shock…

After several years with a Windows phone recently made the jump to Android…well I thought it was Android… Primary driver for the switch of platforms - the Apps.

Now I didn’t do much research (my mistake), I picked a price point of less than £200 SIM free, drew up a spec list, 5.2" or bigger, Compass, NFC, ability to add micro SD, picked up a Huawei P8 Lite 2017…

All seemed OK but then over a week or so started to understand the tech a bit more and spot the issues that you don’t see in the spec sheet…

It's not really Android, it’s a crippled version of Android with a manufacturers wrapper/overlay, in the case of Huawei, EMUI. Then there's the manufacturer specific Apps pre-loaded…Apparently this is for the manufacturers to 'add value' and differentiate themselves in the market. So what's wrong with this? Well as a Windows phone defector its unbelievably horrid and well it's just 'bat s**t' stupid.

You don’t seem to be able to get rid of the manufacturer overlay (EMUI), there's loads of 'added value/crap' (delete as necessary) bloat ware that can't be uninstalled which hogs memory that on the P8 Lite is in relatively short supply (3Gb/16Gb). Apps can't be moved to the SD card either.

The underlying software on my handset was out of date when I got it, Android 7 (v7.1.2 is current at time of writing) and it can't be updated to v7.1.2) and it seems that at best it will at best be months before updates become available, if ever. Compared to Apple and Microsoft where updates are available to all as soon as they go RTM it’s a laughably ludicrous scenario, what on earth do the manufacturers think they are doing????