Hi everybody.
    This is my first time posting for help on a forum such as this. I'm not a complete numpty tech wise but I'm no Bill Gates either.
    I have an old Samsung S4 running lollipop 5.0.1 which I keep as a spare phone and only really use for streaming iPlayer and things like that. The problem is that the memory is completely full with old photos and vids that I want to keep but I can't find them in My Files so that I can move them to USB or SD storage. I hooked up the USB stick to the phone and checked through every single file and folder but could only find a mere handful of pics. I tried connecting to the laptop and again painstakingly went through every single file and folder but found nothing. I then tried Smart Switch with the same results. The photos are not hidden in private mode, there is no screen lock or security as it's an old phone and I couldn't be bothered using any and the photos and vids are physically visible from the gallery. They are backed up to the cloud and I know I could download them to a stick that way or NFC them to another device and just delete manually from the phone but I'd like to know if anybody can let me know where I'm going wrong here. I've done it before years ago and I don't have any trouble doing it with the S7 or S8.
    Any ideas?????
    All help much appreciated in advance. Thank you.
    02-01-2018 04:39 AM
    Welcome to Android Central! Connect the phone to your computer, swipe down the notification panel, tap the USB icon, and make sure MTP/File Transfer is selected. Then, using Windows Explorer, look in the phone's storage for the /DCIM/Camera directory. Any photos or videos taken by the Camera app would be saved there.
    02-01-2018 11:04 AM
    Gallery (which is an app, not a location in the phone) will show photos that only exist in the cloud backup but not on the phone - which is probably the case here.
    02-01-2018 01:49 PM