• Thread starter Android Central Question
  • Start date
A

Android Central Question

I want to turn off tap to speak because I don't use it

MikeP_UK

Nov 24, 2018
Visit site
The suggestion from B Diddy is the exact opposite of what we want to do.

We want to turn off the feature that asks the user to speak a search option instead of displaying the keyboard. We want the keyboard back please. How do I get that back? (I'm new to Android and something appears to have turned the keyboard entry off, but I have no idea why of how not how to get it back.

I want to return to the keyboard input, not use speach. Your 'answer' above does not help as mine is already OFF. When I want to search on Chrome I want a keyboard but I cannot find out why that is not appearing.

Last edited by a moderator:

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
Settings > System > Language & keyboards > Virtual keyboard > Manage keyboards

Turn off Google voice typing. (And make sure you have at least one keyboard turned on.)

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Re: I can't turn off my tap to speak

Oh, I see. The problem is that your initial question was pretty vague -- didn't mention the device, or what they meant by "tap to speak." Questions about the Select to Speak icon (as described in the link in my previous post) are common here, so I was trying to use my ESP to guess what you meant.

Which phone do you have? Do you have a hands-free or driving mode turned on? When you see that speech-to-text window, is there an X in the corner that you can tap?

ChuckK7MCG

Feb 1, 2019
Visit site
I am having the same problem, on a MOtoE5plus

I cannot get the device to display a data entry keyboard. It just displays a tap to speak window, with a unresponsive X in its top right corner.

renewedman

Mar 5, 2019
Visit site
Like many others, I don't how 'tap to speak' came on but I want the option of how to return keypad?
How to I tried acouple of suggestions, below but still no keypad.