Okay. Here it goes : I was running out of storage on my Android smartphone recently and was also experiencing occasional lag on its otherwise fluidic performance. Thus, I decided to download 'Clean Master' app to make some space. Just before installing the app, I deleted the cache data from the phone settings which was to the tune of ~600MB. But when I opened Clean Master and proceeded to clear the junk files from one of the options provided, I was stunned to see 10.1GB worth of junk still sitting on my phone! My question is, how do apps like CM dig up so much junk data which is apparently not detected by Android's own phone management system? Is it a mere gimmick or is there a catch to it?
    Now some details about that humongous junk sitting on my phone...Out of 10.1GB, about 9GB belonged to a photo editing app called 'PicsArt' (more specifically to a sub-menu called "PicsArt image preview") Let me tell you, I've been using this app heavily for the last 2 years or so but ~9GB of junk still looks formidable. And more importantly, if there indeed was this much junk produced by PicsArt, why was it not detected by Android's inbuilt mechanism for phone management? I believe there's rather a catch to it than the gimmicks because once I cleaned all that junk via CM, it actually created that much extra space on the storage (as seen from the settings menu). Post removal, I had 41.30 GB used of 56.55 GB space.

My phone's specs are as follows :-
    --> Qualcomm Snapdragon 820 chipset ; Quad-core CPU (2x2.15 GHz Kryo & 2x1.6 GHz Kryo) ; Adreno 530 GPU.
    --> 64 GB internal storage (non-expandable), 6GB RAM.
    --> Running Android 8.0 with Oxygen OS 5.0.2 (it's a quite light OS. Almost feels like stock Android so I don't think it would've caused any significant bloating)
    04-16-2018 05:13 PM
    What to you seems like junk seems like no more than files to the system. It cannot know that you regard them as junk.