What are ASUS like for updates?

Chris5626

Nov 11, 2012
Visit site
I've been tempted to upgrade from the Pixel 3 XL to the ASUS ROG Phone II.

Anyone that's had an ASUS smartphone before that can tell me what they are like for updates both in terms of how quickly they update their phones when new versions of Android come out and for how long they support their devices?

I've had plenty of Android phones over the years but the Pixel 3 XL is the first stock Android device I've had. Not sure how difficult it's going to be to move from that back to another another manufacturer.

willanaya

Nov 9, 2013
Visit site
when you first set up your phone, you have the option to choose ASUS UI or a semi stock version of android (you can also change back and forth in the settings under themes if you want to experience both). I am new to this phone too so my knowledge is very limited. from what I have read ASUS will push out Android 10 but it might be a while.

if you go with the ASUS UI or the semi stock Android UI, you will get their gaming app and a data transfer app (I think Netflix was preinstalled too). the ASUS UI reminds me of the first Motorola Droid, gimmicky and maybe an icebreaker to those who are curious about the phone. I am glad I switched from my Note 8 to this one.

Chris5626

Nov 11, 2012
Visit site
when you first set up your phone, you have the option to choose ASUS UI or a semi stock version of android (you can also change back and forth in the settings under themes if you want to experience both). I am new to this phone too so my knowledge is very limited. from what I have read ASUS will push out Android 10 but it might be a while.

if you go with the ASUS UI or the semi stock Android UI, you will get their gaming app and a data transfer app (I think Netflix was preinstalled too). the ASUS UI reminds me of the first Motorola Droid, gimmicky and maybe an icebreaker to those who are curious about the phone. I am glad I switched from my Note 8 to this one.