CM7 on SD and Google Apps

auburngirl

Aug 23, 2010
Visit site
I have CM7 installed on an SD card, and running well, but having issues with installing Google Apps. For some reason, I cannot get booted into recovery no matter what I do. Can someone give me some pointers on how to get apps on here? Any ideas why I cannot get booted into recovery?

I am a bit of a Noob, but not a TOTAL Noob. Thanks to all willing to help.

roberto

Feb 3, 2011
Visit site
With CM7, when you press the power key, the popup menu will allow you to select reboot. When you select that, another popup allows you to select reboot or recovery.

If you have ROM manager installed, one of the menu selections is to reboot into recovery.

These methods are much easier than trying to time when to release the n key, etc.

auburngirl

Aug 23, 2010
Visit site
I have tried both of these methods, and neither will go into recovery. I was able to get it into recovery without the SD card in, but cannot get the G apps installed. I am going to work on it some more tonight.

galatians51

Jun 8, 2010
Visit site
I had the same issue, no matter what I did I could not boot into recovery and install gapps.
What I ended up doing was reformatting the SD card, and re-installing CM7. The difference was that this time I placed the CM7 ROM and gapps in the root folder at the same time. It then installed CM7, and gapps immediately thereafter. Worked very well.

auburngirl

Aug 23, 2010
Visit site
I had the same issue, no matter what I did I could not boot into recovery and install gapps.
What I ended up doing was reformatting the SD card, and re-installing CM7. The difference was that this time I placed the CM7 ROM and gapps in the root folder at the same time. It then installed CM7, and gapps immediately thereafter. Worked very well.
I think I am going to need to do the same thing, but I have a dumb question. How do I reformat the SD? It does not show up as a drive.