Just bought a NT and need help installing 3rd party apps!

SadeLyn

Jan 19, 2012
Visit site
I just bought a nook tablet last night and I really like the build and design of the tablet (not to mention price) better than any of the others. However, I don't like being limited to B&N content only. I'm thinking about returning it. Before I do, I was wondering if there is any workaround to install 3rd party apps and get access to amazon market and maybe android without rooting it and voiding my warranty and ability to return it? I'm assuming it has the update on it that blocks such things, but I'm not sure. It has been connected to my wireless so I'm guessing it updated. I will need to check to be sure. I'm new to tablets (this is my first) and don't know much about modifying it and such. I do have an android phone but I'm no tech person, I haven't changed anything on that. Any simple instructions would be much appreciated! :)

bfollowell

Jan 18, 2012
Visit site
I turned my NT into a full-blown Android tablet while keeping all the stock apps. I found the rooting process fairly easy but I've been a techie for about thirty years. I don't think I'd advise just anyone to try this with nothing to go on but the instructions and no tech background at all. You're the only one that really knows your background and can make that decision.

That being said, rooting doesn't necessarily have to void your warranty. You can just as easily unroot and then restore your NT back to factory condition and no one would be any wiser.

As far as being able to install apps without rooting. Well, yes, originally you could do this with some limitations. Then B&N locked out this capability with their 1.4.1 update. It supposedly keeps you from side-loading (installing 3rd party apps) and from rooting. You can revert back to 1.4.0 though and then root but, again, I wouldn't advise this to just anyone, even though I found the process fairly straight-forward.

- Byron

SadeLyn

Jan 19, 2012
Visit site