Visit site
I have the s2 and I want to root it.

Model Number : GT-i9100M
Android Version : 4.1.2
Baseband version : i9100MUGMA5
Kernel Version : 3.0.31-900488
se.infra (AT) ep-127 #3
Build Number : JZ054K.19100MUGMA5

Here is the background : I have purchased a Gear Fit to use with this device, but I need 4.3 on the phone.

I have tried to upgrade the device to no avail using the One-Click method. It tells me that it is not compatible. I have been researching and it seems I need to root the device first and then upgrade the firmware manually.

If any of this sounds wrong, please let me know. I don't want to brick the phone, but would like to upgrade the device. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

netrate

Aug 24, 2014
Visit site
I am new to this. Ok, flashing a custom ROM is fine with me. But how do I go about doing it without the issue of bricking? Is my version of the s2 ok to do this?
1) Go to XDA and ask there?
2) Go to XDA and find my version of the phone and download the ROM?

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
I am new to this. Ok, flashing a custom ROM is fine with me. But how do I go about doing it without the issue of bricking? Is my version of the s2 ok to do this?
1) Go to XDA and ask there?
2) Go to XDA and find my version of the phone and download the ROM?

You can ask XDA, but they may be rather brash with new people. As long as you find the EXACT match, model for model, you should be fine. First things first, though: you do have a custom recovery, and a Nandroid backup, right?

netrate

Aug 24, 2014
Visit site
Thank you for the quick reply. I dont have any of those things so I need to do that first. What comes first, the flashing or recovery...

1) How do I go about getting custom recovery? To me that is the most important thing to do.