I'm an undergrad student working on a research project. The idea is to recommend songs to users based on their playlists. The app can be found on the Play store; search for "Muskrat Music Recommender". It uploads the song information from your playlists to a server which then returns a list of recommendations for each playlist. It can take the "regular" playlists stored on your device as well as your Spotify playlists.

The app does still need beta testers (it only has about 15 downloads so far), but what I really need is just more playlist data for the recommender system. Hopefully requests for research participants are alright in this forum :) Also, keep in mind that the recommendations aren't very good right now (since we don't have much data yet).

Here are a couple screenshots:

Muskrat Music Recommender -- need research participants/beta testers-screenshot_20160909-170711.jpg

Muskrat Music Recommender -- need research participants/beta testers-screenshot_20160909-170729.jpg
    09-09-2016 06:42 PM
    I always looked for such an app. How is your app doing and are you still working on it?
    09-26-2016 10:20 AM
    Sorry for the late response! I am still working on it. For the purposes of the research project (which has a deadline of 31 December), I've decided to use Amazon mechanical turk to get more users + data. Hopefully it'll yield some interesting results. Unfortunately I don't get a ton of time to work on the project since right now it has to take a backseat to my classes + part-time job + practicing for orchestra rehearsals....