Help me decide on a new phone, replacing Xperia XZ1

Cloudy Sky

Apr 3, 2019
Visit site
Hi everyone

I've been using Sony Xperia XZ1 for two years and it's been giving up on me lately and so I'm looking to get an upgrade. There are so many good smartphones on the market nowadays which makes it difficult to decide. I've read a bit about different flagships but not too sure which one to get still.

Things I value in a smartphone are:
  • Filming quality, both the video and audio
  • Beautiful large screen to enjoy videos/films.
  • audio quality in general
  • Crisp operation - don't want freezes, crashes, delays, they frustrate the hell out of me
  • Simplicity in the software - don't want some fancy features if they end up lagging the phone a year down the line
  • Aesthetics of the handset - though most phones have good case designs so I could cover up anything ugly
  • Durability - don't want cracked screens/backs on slight impact - my XZ1 is unscathed after many drops so I'm impressed with it. Hope newer phones do the same/better. Obviously I try not to drop phones but accidents happen.

Things I don't really care about are:
  • Earphone jack
  • Notch
  • Mobile gaming

Things that I would appreciate are
  • Battery life
  • Water resistance/proof

I've thought about those phones so far:

Sony XZ3
  • Familiar with Xperia series (used since Z5)
  • Beautiful handset design imo and nice colours
  • My headphones/speakers are all Sony
  • 4GB RAM isn't an upgrade from XZ1
Pixel 3 XL
  • No bloatware, stock android
  • unlimited google photo storage
  • heard good things about camera
  • 4GB RAM
  • bugs??

Samsung S10
  • newest - might as well get the newest if I'm not going to buy another phone for another few years
  • really cool screen
  • more RAM
  • I have no idea how One UI or whatever feels like - too many unnecessary features? Or are they good?