Need laptop for work

woomdawg

Nov 18, 2020
Visit site
I am a Subaru dealer tech and I need a laptop to track my repair orders and hours per job with sheets. I also would use it to l also need it to log into our tech website. The only catch is I need to able to download files from the edge browser. Will the chromebook work for me? I love the Google ecosystem.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! Unfortunately, Edge isn't available on Chromebooks, even through the Play Store. Sorry! Maybe in the future?

What requires Edge?

woomdawg

Nov 18, 2020
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! Unfortunately, Edge isn't available on Chromebooks, even through the Play Store. Sorry! Maybe in the future?

What requires Edge?

For whatever reason we can only download our updates for infotainment systems from edge browsers all of a sudden.

smvim

May 16, 2014
Visit site
Are you sure that Edge is a specified requirement? Now that Microsoft changed Edge so it's based on the Blink web engine, it's basically just another Chromium clone. If your business does have an 'Edge' specific website, there's a good chance that the Chrome browser will suffice. Is there someone in the IT department you can reach out to for more details?

woomdawg

Nov 18, 2020
Visit site
Are you sure that Edge is a specified requirement? Now that Microsoft changed Edge so it's based on the Blink web engine, it's basically just another Chromium clone. If your business does have an 'Edge' specific website, there's a good chance that the Chrome browser will suffice. Is there someone in the IT department you can reach out to for more details?