"Super" AMOLED? No thanks...

EnergyPlus

Aug 27, 2011
Visit site
I have been surprised at the rather complacent response from many regarding the proliferation of so called "Super" AMOLED screens. For me, that alone is sufficient to keep me from purchasing a device that might, in all other comparisons, excell. After all, it is the screen that is the most obvious impression of a phone. I would rather make a sacrifice in battery or speed or something else and keep an acceptable screen.

As a professional photographer, I'm very focused (no pun intended) on screen presentation. I've spent more than a few hours in the stores comparing images stored on my website from phone to phone. I've never seen Super AMOLED (I have to laugh at the word "super" as I feel it's anything BUT "super!") that displayed anything near even minimally acceptable. Dull, off tint colors that are super saturated to compensate simply don't do it for me. One of my best comparisons is to compare a black and white image from screen to screen. All of the SA screens display the blacks and anything but black and with an underlying tint. The whites are totally unacceptable, with a yellow/green cast that simply ruins the image for me.

Honestly, the best and most accurate display is the iPhone, but I'm not even thinking of going there, shoot me if I do. My Bionic is a great comprimise in my opinion. For a phone, the color accuracy and contrast is more than satisfying, sharpness and resolution is acceptable (I don't get the whole pentile argument, the images, even when examined up close and critically, are more than acceptable) and performs better outside then any SA I've seen.