OK so I am dying to root this phone and start playing around with it on a deeper level but I am in IT and, as most people in my field, I will never change something unless I can get back to where I started. So from what I understand I would need an ODIN image of my phone to fully restore back to what I had before I changed my ROM or any of those other fun things you can do. The problem I have is that I have read you have to be rooted to get the ODIN image and I am on ED2 so rooting for me would mean using the downgrade which would put somebody else's image on my phone and I do not know if I am quite comfortable with that. So here are my questions:

1. Is it correct I need to be rooted to get an ODIN image and restore it to the phone?
    2. Is it likely Samsung will publish stock images for recovery?
    3. If I have to be rooted is there any progress being made on ED2 rooting?
    4. Is there any other info that I am missing on how this process works?

I am still really new to this whole Android thing so I apologize if I am way off. I am coming from a BlackBerry which had its own way of handling stuff like this but you could always get back to start with a stock image no matter what so this is a lot different for me and I think I am at the point where I need help before I end up stuck where I don't want to be. As an aside, I am quite technical and I have found it really awesome the possibilities of stuff you can do with this phone. I think I just need to be nudged in the right direction.

Thanks in advance for any help you guys can provide!
    05-25-2011 03:18 PM