New to Android and the RAZR. Questions out the ying yang!

ibcop

Trusted Member
Mar 9, 2011
Visit site
Hello guys and gals....

I am new to Android and the RAZR - just started using it today after being with Blackberry for the past four years. I'm still not convinced that this device is for me and feel things should operate on the RAZR like I'm used to with BB....:D

Here are a few questions - so far anyway:

1. Is there a way or an app where I can assign different color LED notifications? I did a test call to the device and see green is a missed call. I'd like to be able to set up distinguishable notifications for email, messages, etc.

2. How long does the LED flash after the missed call, message, etc?

3. Can I assign specific ring tones to specific contacts? There is a lot of default ring tones but I'd like to use MP3's.

4. What chat app is more like using Blackberry Messenger? Any good ones - either free or paid?

5. Any "must have" apps that would make the transition from a BB any easier?

Thanks for any response/help. :)

TechTinker

Aug 10, 2011
Visit site
Im not a Droid Razr owner, sadly. But I do own the Droid 3, and they mostly the same phone.

1. I honestly don't think you can, as far as I know:
  • Green = Missed Call
  • Green = New Message / Email
  • Red = Low Battery
2. It doesn't turn off till you check the Message/Email/ect...
3. You can take any choice of MP3's from you music application to use them as your ringtone, maybe on the Razr you can, I cant find it. (Unable to confirm)
4. gTalk.
5. I'm not sure on this one.
Maybe someone else can answer.

This page may help a little more.

I hope you enjoy your new Droid Razr! :)

ishore99

Aug 31, 2010
Visit site
I have my Razr since day one. To answer your questions:
1- I use Handcent for my SMS and there you can set the color for sms messages.

2- Until you check your Notification bar and clear it.

3- Go to contacts, Pick the contact you want a special ringtone for, press menu and select options.