I bought my epic with 2.1 and have received the OTA 2.2 (EC05). I would like to root my phone to ext4, but what do I need to look for when looking at ROMS?

Does it have to be just for EC05?
    Should I go back to (1I18) before rooting?
    What would I need to do to first if I would like to install Frankenstein or Viper (trinity)?

I'm really interested and need the free tethering.

All info is appreciated. please remember I'm very new to this.

email Raiderspy1@yahoo.com
    04-09-2011 10:53 AM
    I bought my epic with 2.1 and have received the OTA 2.2 (EC05). I would like to root my phone to ext4, but what do I need to look for when looking at ROMS?

What would I need to do to first if I would like to install Frankenstein or Viper (trinity)?

Since your on EC05 then you need to go after ROMs that support EC05. Today we have Bonsai v4.x.x, Syndicate Frozen Rom v1.1.0, midNIGHT v5.x.x and Viper, Frankenstein and I think Superhero ROM.

They are all unique in there own ways. Most have bloatware removed, but the devs usually offer packages to reinstall the bloatware if needed. They all offer wireless tethering and some like Syndicate even offer wired tethering. Last I checked I think wired tethering wasn't functioning on Syndicate but they were in the works of fixing it.

When it comes to which ROM to pick, I always encourage users to test drive a few ROMs.. See what they like and compare, you can also sift threw the threads for each ROM which we have here and see what people are saying about them.

Rooting, there is no need to return to Eclair or earlier versions of Froyo. You can root your EC05 based phone from the link below. You will need to complete the conversion to EXT4 after you do procedure #1 to run any of these ROMs which is located in procedure #2 of the thread below.
    [Root] Samsung Epic 4G Official Froyo EC05 w/Optional EXT4 - Updated 4/1

Any further questions, please feel free to ask.
    04-09-2011 11:03 AM