Which ROM to choose

infinity2134

May 24, 2011
Visit site
I understand that there are a few to chose from but the part that is confusing to me is what is the difference between them all. Is it all just personal preference? What is the most common one? Can someone point me towards a comparison? Thanks in advance.

ragnarokx

Apr 20, 2010
Visit site
Features and change logs are listed next to the download links of most ROMs. Tell us what you are looking for and perhaps we can make a suggestion.

Officerpolabear

Jan 16, 2011
Visit site
The ROMs also run on one build. Currently there are 6: DI18, DK28, EB13, EC05, 3D12, and EE03. And yes like Ragnarox said, tell us what you are looking for. Do you want something stable, quick, heavily themed, minimalistic, gingerbread?

infinity2134

May 24, 2011
Visit site
I am new to this so something stable, quick, battery saving would be nice. Also what is the reference to gingerbread - I am new to this only 4 days with my Epic and I love it but so much to take in so fast.

Andrew Ruffolo

Jan 5, 2010
Visit site
I am new to this so something stable, quick, battery saving would be nice. Also what is the reference to gingerbread - I am new to this only 4 days with my Epic and I love it but so much to take in so fast.

Gingerbread is a version of the OS. Currently, the official releases of Android on the Epic are Frozen Yogurt (Froyo). There have been 2 leaks of Gingerbread, a newer OS. No real features are added in Gingerbread, but it definitely has a different feel and look about it. Also, a security patch is built into gingerbread that isn't on Froyo. As far as stability, your mileage will vary. I personally felt that it didn't seem complete (hence, why it is a leak) and that it wasn't stable enough for me. I felt it ran slow and lagged really bad when trying to navigate through screens. I also noticed that internal space was a contributing factor with this. The more apps I had, the slower it felt.