New to the Customization Area

chrisingrassia

Nov 19, 2011
Visit site
Hi everyone, my name's Chris, and I am completely new to the world of rooting, hacking, putting on ROMs, etc. But after going through the thread "Let's See Those Home Screens," I can unequivocally say that there are some serious customization opportunities that I'd like to start exploring, particularly the lock screen, home screen, widgets, and overall layout. The problem? I don't know how to do any it myself. But I'm computer and technology-adept, so I can easily learn if someone is willing to teach me and/or send me links or whatnot that may have detailed instructions.

For instance, on page 35 of "Let's See Those Home Screens," dollface54 posted a picture of Elegant theme for ADW with Lost Exhibit clock skin for mClock....and I'm drooling :). Do these custom home screens and lock screens and widgets require me to root my phone? If so, I was under the assumption that ROOT was causing problems with LOS, no 4G, Bluetooth, and other issues. I see these terms like kernel, flash, ODIN, etc, etc, all over the boards, but don't really understand what I'm reading and how it pertains specifically to my phone.

I'd love to personalize my Android phone......after all, isn't that why I don't use the iPhone? Any help or guidance would be much appreciated. I'm sure there are others out there like me that want to do stuff, but don't know how to start or just need a helping hand.

JayWill

Jun 21, 2011
Visit site
You don't need root to get any of the looks you see in that homescreen pic thread. All are done with applications available on the market.

chrisingrassia

Nov 19, 2011
Visit site
You don't need root to get any of the looks you see in that homescreen pic thread. All are done with applications available on the market.