root now or wait a little for ICS?

nabril1569

Jun 29, 2011
Visit site
hello
i want to root my phone to simply keep EL29 but rooted in order to clean up sprint bloatware and to try different modems. I get spotty reception throughout areas of Miami, and I think I can do better trying a different modem (FC18 or FC22).

With Samsung's announcement of ICS coming soon (whenever that is...supposedly end of April), should I just wait until ICS comes out?

I am relatively new to droid, root, etc.

thanks

Last edited:

tony404

Sep 15, 2011
Visit site
Im going to wait myself. I rooted my nook, it was fun. It was my first. I need my phone for work so I cant mess around and be without one if I screw it up.

skyo12

Sep 15, 2011
Visit site

srkmagnus

Retired Moderator
May 23, 2010
Visit site
You can root now and remove all the bloat you don't want on the device. There are ICS leaks and ROMs for our device but nothing based on an "Official" release. If you want an Official ICS ROM you'll have the opportunity to install it when its release, either while keeping root or by restoring to el29 stock and go from there.

The process is straight forward and an auto-root was created by sfhub over at xda. You might want to give that at try and go from there. Be sure to do a lot of reading before attempting you understand the process :) Good luck!

tony404

Sep 15, 2011
Visit site
You can root now and remove all the bloat you don't want on the device. There are ICS leaks and ROMs for our device but nothing based on an "Official" release. If you want an Official ICS ROM you'll have the opportunity to install it when its release, either while keeping root or by restoring to el29 stock and go from there.

The process is straight forward and an auto-root was created by sfhub over at xda. You might want to give that at try and go from there. Be sure to do a lot of reading before attempting you understand the process :) Good luck!