Power-Mat HTC Evo 4G with Phone Cover

JuiceBoy214

Nov 2, 2010
Visit site
hello this is my first time on the forums :D
but i wanted to purchase the powermat single for the Evo, but i bought an otterbox and it was kind of expensive and i wouldnt want it to go to waste, so i was wondering will the phone charge even though it has a silicone layer,hard plastic layer, and a full body screen protector.?please help on the powemat website it says another case MAY reduce the charging or something. Anyone out there, give a helping hand?

Caitlyn McKenzie

May 17, 2010
Visit site
Based on my experience with the Pre, a case like that likely will interfere with the charging. The inductive charge can only travel a very short distance, and the further the distance, the less power it produces.

Gekko

Banned
May 15, 2010
Visit site
powermat is a "no go" for me for a bunch of reasons -

1. blocks charge port. think about when you are in the CAR and want to charge?
2. ugly, emblem/logo, bulky on device.
3. mat takes up space and looks awful.
4. not much utility/value vs. the little effort of just plugging it in.
5. cost.
6. limits case options.
7. PIA to remove to access microSD card, battery etc.
8. contraptions. i don't like contraptions.

imtravis

Jan 1, 2010
Visit site
powermat is a "no go" for me for a bunch of reasons -

1. blocks charge port. think about when you are in the CAR and want to charge?
2. ugly, emblem/logo, bulky on device.
3. mat takes up space and looks awful.
4. not much utility/value vs. the little effort of just plugging it in.
5. cost.
6. limits case options.
7. PIA to remove to access microSD card, battery etc.
8. contraptions. i don't like contraptions.

I bought one (just the door, since I have the mat already), and have found the following:

1. it's just simple to unplug, and you can charge via regular car charger, nothing difficult.