How exactly do phone monthly payments work on T-Mobile?

Nguyenning

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
I'm trying to understand what the catch is... I've never done a monthly payment system before.

So, I pay like $30/month for a new phone... and let's say I want a newer phone in a year. Do I just trade this phone in and continue making the $30/month payment on the new phone?

Rinse and repeat forever? What's the catch? I have to be losing out somewhere, right?

egorre

Nov 10, 2012
Visit site
you trade back in your previous phone and the $30/mo will stop. when you get a new phone you get the eip amount of that phone, not the previous one. rinse and repeat.

it has to be in good condition, else, there's a multiple tier deductible that's non-refundable. on top of that is $10/mo jump fee. the phone is their property, not yours. when you cancel service, either pay off your remaining eip or return the phone. deductible applies as well. it's a non-contract contract.

cpaight

Dec 28, 2011
Visit site
Typically it's the contract that gets you. Usually if you have a 2 year contract and if you want to trade the phone in after a 1 year you pay an early termination fee or the balance of the phone AND re-up at that time for another 2 years. Some carriers are changing that model (check out T-Mobile's JUMP plan), so just check out what each has to offer and see what works best for you.

Just curious, have you always just done pre-paid before? I switched to that option and bought my Nexus 4 off contract and it's more than paid for the phone in the amount I've saved.

Nguyenning

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
So let's say a phone retails for $750...

I buy it with monthly payments of $30/month for 12 months which totals $360.