Verizon Terminates My Unlimited Plan

boomtree

Feb 13, 2017
Visit site
Just a heads up on the new tactic Verizon is taking to terminate users grandfathered in on the unlimited data plan.

A guy named Scott Johnson called me from Verizon Executive Customer Relations - or something to that effect. He joyfully told me that Verizon was terminating my account because 'a majority' of the use was on an extended network. I know for a fact this is a bogus claim. I'm a PhD student at the University of Oklahoma in Norman, and I've never seen my phone switch to an extended network since I've been here. I use only 100-200 minutes a month, including weekends, and only 10-20GB of data.

Scott was very unfriendly, as if I'd committed some sort of crime for giving them my business for the last 8 years. I asked him if he knew that I've been a loyal customer for the last 7-8 years, and he said, "Yeah, I can see that." He didn't even give me a thank you. He just told me they are more than happy to port my number to another carrier. They didn't offer me another plan or offer me a way to stay with Verizon. It is a total sham. I don't want anything to do with such an unethical company. They will never, ever see a red cent from me as long as I live. I'll be sure to tell everyone I know to stay away from Verizon. How horrible they are to lie and make up an excuse.

I'm glad they are terminating my account, because I was going to switch carriers when the Samsung 8 came out, anyway. Verizon has been price gouging to the max. Anyone have suggestions on which carrier I should use? Thanks.

N4Newbie

Trusted Member
Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
As a general rule, using "only" and "10-20 GB of data" in the same sentence when referring to cellular connections is a bit of a stretch... :)

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
As a general rule, using "only" and "10-20 GB of data" in the same sentence when referring to cellular connections is a bit of a stretch... :)