Hello all,

Firstly, please, This is a long read but I'm fairly new at Android so if you don't have anything helpful to say, save it. In return I'll try to keep my ranting down

Over a year ago I switched from Windows Phone 10 (still miss it) to Android. I chose Android over Apple primarily because I have 2 MS e-mail accounts with separate contacts lists and Apple won't handle that well. I got an inexpensive Galaxy S7 off Amazon, which I thought would get me going. I think my problems are a buggy phone, an old phone, a Samsung phone, and Android in general.

It has gotten slower and I now realize the online "octa-core" specs I have seen on phone comparison sites are not the "Quad core" phone I got. And the battery has gone from 28 hours to 14 or 16 tops now. I probably need to step up to a newer phone but I'm not spending $800 on something I could easily smash or drop in a lake.

As for bugginess, every so often it just forgets things like syncing contacts from my lists into the "contacts" app. I go to dial and have no contacts and have to re-set the settings. Sometimes it gets warm and burns through battery for no reason. Sometimes it gets insanely slow when I open it after it doing nothing at all. And maps are painful. I had to install "Maps Go".

As far as Samsung goes, I hate all the bloatware and samsung apps I can't delete. It randomly tries to switch me back to the Samsung messaging app. And they bug me EVERY day about my Samsung account.

I would welcome diagnostic and repair advice to clean up and speed up my phone but I'm probably headed for a new phone so I'd take advice on that too. I'll probably get a used phone because again, not spending $800 on a phone, just want bump up to something more usable. Something a similar size to my S7. And "Stock Android" might be nice so I could choose what I want installed.
    08-15-2020 09:46 AM