So Much Choice! A little help would be appreciated.

coggster

May 17, 2010
Visit site
Hiya,

I'm new to Android. In fact I'm so new to Android I don't even have a device yet! :mad:Which is where my issue arises. I'm currently using the BlackBerry Bold 9700 but wanted something different so have been looking around. I'm not due for a contract upgrade until December but wanted to put in as much research as possible. :)

So I've decided that if I leave BB then it will be for an Android device. However I struggle to make sense of all the devices available. I live in the UK and will be on the Vodafone network and at current they have the Nexus 1 & HTC Desire. I have looked through these devices and there doesn't seem to be glaringly obvious and major differences between them (Nexus has a noise cancellation 2nd mike and track ball - Desire has no 2nd mike, Sense UI and a track pad). Other than those they seem to be pretty much identical devices so I was curious if there was anything that made one device perceived to be better than the other. Also is there an Android device available in the UK or will be available this year that seems to be raising the bar for Android devices? I know the likelihood of the UK getting the Evo4 anytime soon is slim to none which does seem to be the 'class' device available.

To assist my search and Android journey I've signed up to Android Central and I'm working my way through the podcasts - however given my complete newbie status I really could do with a header in the right direction for relevant information and comparisons. This is by no means a 'what Android should I get' post as there is no way for you guys to know what I want! I'm aware I'll struggle with 'feel' 'balance' 'UI attraction' and such things until I can 'play' with a few phones but I could do with an idiots guide to features etc in one easy place.