a beginners guide to the general android rooting process

qt3dot14

Dec 22, 2011
Visit site
hello everyone.

im a confused newbie. is there any other kind?

it seems that a lot of the traffic on this forum is from people trying to piece some information together from a thousand random threads.

some of the information we are looking for is phone-specific for sure. but i believe a lot of the confusion also comes from newbies like me not being able to review the basic rooting procedures and/or processes as a complete system. this could include rooting "definitions", but im more referring to how the different processes/steps follow each other or relate to each other.

one of my goals here (GOAL #1) is to compile some important info that will allow us newbies to get started by understanding the non-phone-specific general rooting/custom recovery/new rom procedure without going to a thousand different threads. once we understand the underlying procedure, then we can go to a thousand threads to get our phone-specific ROMULATION (explained below) completed.

GOAL #2. learn the process well enough for me to make some money! (explained below)

Goal #3. to make you experts some money! you do want some cash for your education and efforts dont you?

MY PERSONAL POSTING METHOD FOR THIS SPECIFIC THREAD:

i will post a series of "general information" pieces INDIVIDUALLY, BUT ALL IN THIS ONE THREAD, to be verified/clarified/vilified on this thread by posting each "info area" as a different comment. this way if you have something to add to a particular piece of information, you wont have to "quote" all the information. im trying to keep the thread from becoming too long because of quoting a long entry when you may be only replying to one specific piece of information in the entry. (ie: this intro paragraph doesnt need to be quoted if you are responding to a specific subject later in this thread.)