No Sound With Text and Email Notifications After ICS Update

deltasig41

Mar 7, 2012
Visit site
I have an AT&T Samsung Galaxy SII. I updated to the stock ICS last week, and ever since the update, my text notifications and email notifications will periodically mute themselves. Screen still lights up, notification is still in the notification bar, but no sound.

I've changed the settings to ensure I have them correct several times. I did a master reset as well. Doing a hard reset will fix the issue temporarily, but it always goes back to not working. Anyone else had this issue? Know of a fix? Thanks.

Devinator

Sūpā Saiya-jin Fō
Jul 27, 2011
Visit site
That's odd that it comes back after a reset. That leads me to believe that at some point after the reset, you are installing an app that is interfering with these sounds. Try backing out the apps you have installed a few at a time and see if the problem goes away. Alternatively, you can reset again and install your apps slowly until you find the culprit.

If that doesn't work, how long have you had your phone? If you are still under warranty, call AT&T and complain.

deltasig41

Mar 7, 2012
Visit site
I'm convinced there's an issue with the new update, because it never did it prior to installing ICS. And, as I said, it does it periodically, then will stop working. Is it possible there's a problem with old gingerbread files being kept in the cache? Perhaps they are interfering with the new software? It's more of an inconvenience than anything, but I would like to fix the issue. Just don't think it's worth spending an hour on the phone with tech support when I know they won't do anything anyway.

Devinator

Sūpā Saiya-jin Fō
Jul 27, 2011
Visit site