Custom Recovery Fundamental Conceptual Queries?

Hi Gurus, I am new to android world and have purchased Samsung galaxy Nexus GSM and am on JB and have been able to root and unlock using Wugfresh toolkit.

I did Nandroid backup using Wugfresh toolkit.

Few fundamental basic conceptual queries:

# When we install CWM (clockworkmod) what I understand is that some custom recovery is installed which can then be used to do full backup (call Nandroid backup).

1. When I do factory reset after the above process; should the customer recovery on phone get deleted / wiped as it was not part of original phone?
    If yes then whats the point of it as in any emergency I cannot rely?
    If No then why because factory reset does a complete wipe and installs everything default like when the phone came?

Pls elaborate. As I am highly confused with this?

2. Is customer recovery part of ROM? Pls elaborate.

3. How do one use Wugfresh toolkit or other methods which wipe off phone before backing up first time? Its like chicken egg story. No backup without unlock and no unlock without wipe (before backup)?

4. Is Boot loader part of ROM and once unlocked does it stay forever like that. Pls elaborate.

I am no geek but very excited about all these and learning a lot.

Your help and guidance will be very helpful.
    07-21-2012 04:10 AM
    Custom Recovery Fundamental Conceptual Queries?

Hi Gurus, I am new to android world and have purchased Samsung galaxy Nexus GSM and am on JB and have been able to root and unlock using Wugfresh toolkit.

I did Nandroid backup using Wugfresh toolkit.

Few fundamental basic conceptual queries:

# When we install CWM (clockworkmod) what I understand is that some custom recovery is installed which can then be used to do full backup (call Nandroid backup).

1. When I do factory reset after the above process; should the customer recovery on phone get deleted / wiped as it was not part of original phone?