Need help deciding on a tablet

oldschool2

Sep 7, 2012
Visit site
Hello,
I'm very new to the whole Tablet/Android thing, but I want to get a 7-inch tablet to help with my failing eyesight. (A 10-inch would be really good, but they are way out of my budget).
I was going to go with the Kindle Fire, but then heard rumors about a new Kindle coming out and then I ran across the Nexus 7 as well which only added to my dilema.
I'm mainly going to use the tablet as a remote control for my Logitech Squeezebox Touch (can't see the barely 4 inch screen from 9 feet away with glasses so by using a tablet to control it I'll be able to see the screen as it will be in my tablet right in front of me).
I;m not into reading books on a tablet. I like to read, but prefer the traditional method hands down. I also will not be watching movies or playing games on the tablet. I also will not be playing music on the tablet. I would however, like to try soem audiobooks perhaps. I would also like to try some apps I have seen. It would also be great to be able to have my shopping list on a tablet for grocery shopping and such. It would also come in handy for vinyl record hunting (if there's an app for that). I'd like to be able to put Word docs and Excel spreadsheets on it.
Two very big points for me are:
1) The ability to delete apps if I don't like an app or if I have not used it in a long time because I have no use for it
2) Advertising. I do not want to have to put up with endless ads at every turn every time I turn it on or want to do something.
In looking at the Kindle Fire HD and Nexus 7 they both have strong points and weak points and I'm trying to decide which one would be less of a paperweight.