Rooting and general questions.

epurcell5023

Oct 1, 2012
Visit site
hello all,

So i'm new to the android world, but I love it already. I have a couple of questions I was hoping to get answered. I'm currently using the Samsung Galaxy Ace GT-S5830D.
1) is there a way besides rooting to get rid of apps that were pre-installed on my phone?
2) if I root my phone, what will it allow me to do, and will it make the phone easier or harder to use?
3) am I the only one using this phone that has issues with the time not setting itself correctly? I currently have to manually set the time and so when I go on facebook the time is an hour behind.

Thanks for the help!

clodfelterac

Samurai Dev
Jan 3, 2012
Visit site
welcome... i believe rooting is the way to go... ill allow you to customize your phone as you see fit, amongst a myriad of other pros that far out weigh anything that may be considered a con... i will always root my devices... once you taste the freedom, youll understand... just please, please, please research and read up on anything you dont understand before you attempt it... knowledge is priceless... lol, and knowing, is half the battle... ;-)
Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 - xda-developers
Galaxy Ace S5830 Android Development - xda-developers

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
Rooting is the only way to remove bloatware/unwanted apps on your device. If you don't have the uninstall option with a certain application when you pull it up in Settings/Apps/Manage Apps then rooting is your only option to remove it.

shadorski

Oct 1, 2012
Visit site
Im trying to root my Galaxy S GTI9000 running GINGERBREAD 2.3.5 . All my attempts to root the phone have failed. In the recovery menu iv noticed an error at the bottom in yellow saying, 'cant access to /system/csc/TGY/system' . so whenever I try to root the phone the operation aborts giving a 'E: signature can not be verified' error. Please help

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Android Central Forums