Total noob question: What does a custom ROM do?

Jochen K.

Sep 21, 2012
Visit site
Hi,

I've been reading a lot about Cyanogen Mod and others, but apparently everyone but me knows exactly what they are and do, so that's never explained.

Just what DOES CM, for example, do to an Android phone?

More free memory? More speed? Can the phone fly? ....;)

Regards,

Jochen

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
its an OS. just like how you install windows 7 on a PC if it came with windows xp on it.

CM try to get the latest OS for a number of phones. for example some phones dont even get ICS for their phone but CM will build ICS or jelly bean OS for these devices.

They also add features to the stock android. its faster because they dont have skin/ is stock.

Devinator

Sūpā Saiya-jin Fō
Jul 27, 2011
Visit site
Yea, it's basically a customized version of Android. CM is pretty stripped down when you get it. Carrier bloatware is gone. I just checked on my GTAB7 and I have 21 apps installed. The only app I added to it after I installed CM was Play.

No, the phone can't fly, but, you will most likely see improved speed and battery life.

knownsense

Nov 2, 2012
Visit site
Hi Frenz

Just a little doubt.

I am new to rooting, in fact new to Android itself such that I don't even own a Android yet. However, just deciding between SGS 2, HTC Desire X and SG Advance.

The doubt is that can v install a latest Android Version onto an old Android device running cupcake (assuming the hardware permits)?

Thanks

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
Hi Frenz

Just a little doubt.

I am new to rooting, in fact new to Android itself such that I don't even own a Android yet. However, just deciding between SGS 2, HTC Desire X and SG Advance.

The doubt is that can v install a latest Android Version onto an old Android device running cupcake (assuming the hardware permits)?

Thanks
well, pretty much those cupcake devices wont have roms for the latest version. devs wont support it since its old.