Is it possible to get rid of the 4.2 update 'lock' screen horror? Or roll back to 4.1? Help!

Jax67

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
I am brand new to Android, and to the Nexus 7 I was madly in love with since I got it the other day - until foolishly applying the update to 4.2. The pleasing lock screen has now disappeared, replaced by a digital clock with mis-matched digits, a cheap and nasty looking scrolling effect of my info and the ability to add widgets showing personal information by anyone who happens to be holding the Nexus, who can then access my email and calendar. I've never had to with any other OS I've used on any device since 1985, but I realise now I should have done some research to see what the update might do before rashly going ahead with it. If there isn't any way to make the lock screen an actual lock screen again, and a calmer one at that, is it possible to roll back the update to what I was incredibly happy with? Presumably I could do a factory reset somehow, but that seems a little drastic, and presumably I would lose information. Wish I had learned about backing up before doing the update, feeling very foolish now...

Jax67

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
How would I unload it?! I have added security to stop passers by being able to access email/calendar, and made my owner info tiny so it doesn't scroll, so it's a start. I really hope the rest of the update makes up for the stuff I have to look at every day and hate.

Jax67

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
That helps! Now if someone could find a way to stop the clock looking like it was designed by a chimp in the dark who was having a bad day...

MidCat

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
OH MY GOD!!! I HATE the new update!! It has messed up my applications and now my JORTE Calendar doesn't work! And the Lock Screen CLOCK!!! Different size fonts and all messed up!! I need to go back to 4.1!! PLEASE SOMEONE HELP! I am desperate!:mad:

bergeronjc

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site