Cyanogenmod and auto-syncing Google

navedoperez

Oct 29, 2012
Visit site
Hi! I'm new to Android and I have some questions..

The easier one, how do I auto-sync google apps such as gmail and music? I'm on 4.2.
When I go to Settings > Scroll down to Accounts > Google, I see a small message saying "Sync is OFF". If I click on that I can manually sync, but I don't see any options for autosync.

Also, will getting Cyanogenmod benefit me since I already have 4.2? From my understading, Cyanogenmod is an alternative to the stock Android ROM, that lets users update to the newest firmware earlier than waiting for it to officially rol out for their device. Am I right on this? Or does Cyanogenmod do that plus add new features?

And if they do, what is an example of these features? I want to know if it is worth the root and voiding my warranty.

I know I've asked a lot but I would appreciate some help! :)

PvilleComp

Jun 13, 2010
Visit site
If you go into Google under Settings -> Accounts and then tap on your username it should bring up the list of Google features to sync.

As far as loading Cyanogenmod, that's up to you and what phone you have. Does Cyanogen support your phone directly? If so then it's a great ROM and I would highly recommend it (I run it as a daily driver on my phone.).

mrccentral

Feb 28, 2013
Visit site
I have the very same problem. Somehow since I upgraded to CM 10.2 automatic sync is off. The big problem is I can't find out how to turn it back on again. There is no option in the Accounts section in Settings (some post on the net states that just go to "Settings" - "Accounts & Sync". But there is only "Settings" - "Accounts". There seems no way to enable sync here. Only to add account, remove accounts and manually start syncing

Guess the "missing Sync" might be because of the rather new "Profile" option. Inside here you can set if synchronizing is to be done. But it did not work. I also tried to disable "Profile" but that did not work either.