Newbie...Please help with Star N9776 6" JB. Phone screen goes black when calling pls help

Paddy ODoors

May 18, 2013
Visit site
Hi All,
I am new to this forum and thought I would ask for some advice about an issue thats driving me mad.
I bought a cheap (all I could afford) jelly bean Chinese Star N9776 phone and on the whole have to report its great for the money.
The only problem is that when I make a call or receive a call the ALS_PS sensor I think turns the screen off and it will not come back on until the call ends.
I have searched for answers and have found that this is a common problem. One thread suggested that if you enter the boot menu with the volume and power key you can sellect an option to disable this feature.
However the menu is in Chinese:-\ !!
Please can anyone help me with this or suggest a remedy keeping in mind I am a novice ;)
Thanks in advance.
Paddy

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
Hi All,
I am new to this forum and thought I would ask for some advice about an issue thats driving me mad.
I bought a cheap (all I could afford) jelly bean Chinese Star N9776 phone and on the whole have to report its great for the money.
The only problem is that when I make a call or receive a call the ALS_PS sensor I think turns the screen off and it will not come back on until the call ends.
I have searched for answers and have found that this is a common problem. One thread suggested that if you enter the boot menu with the volume and power key you can sellect an option to disable this feature.
However the menu is in Chinese:-\ !!
Please can anyone help me with this or suggest a remedy keeping in mind I am a novice ;)
Thanks in advance.
Paddy

Do you have another device that can take a photo and then have Google Translate convert it?

DemoNaija

May 20, 2013
Visit site