Getting Started with Android - Tips and Tricks

TracieH

Feb 22, 2012
Visit site
Just got a android and I am at a loss on what should be the obvious ways to work it. I am Tracie and I am still loving the android any tips would greatly appreciated!

gizmo4me2

Feb 24, 2012
Visit site
Hey all, nice to be part of a large group of like minded people. Cell phones are here to stay no doubt about it, I am new to the cell phone society and I am looking forward to many years of great news from this group. There are a lot of things I like to get some answers to, so thanks for taking me on board.

gizmo4me2

Feb 24, 2012
Visit site
The first thing I would like to find out, I got a LG GT 540 and I would love to update it. I got told I had to Root it, sound scary. Anybody here that can put some light on this part. I appreciate it. Have a great weekend.

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
The first thing I would like to find out, I got a LG GT 540 and I would love to update it. I got told I had to Root it, sound scary. Anybody here that can put some light on this part. I appreciate it. Have a great weekend.
Rooting gives apps the ability to do things they can't do if the phone isn't rooted. It's like "run as administrator" in Windows.

You can officially update the existing firmware without rooting the phone. You have to root it if you want to install some unofficial updates.

The question you should ask yourself is whether you want to update the phone just to update it, or if you have some specific purpose in mind. If the former, don't bother. You won't gain anything, and you risk bricking the phone (turning it into something as useful as a brick).

pazzo02

Feb 16, 2011
Visit site
Keep getting notice that updates are available after rooting phone.Should I ignore these notices?