Unlocked AT&T Atrix 2 in Italy

vsa209

Sep 30, 2013
Visit site
Hi All!

I am currently studying a year abroad in Florence, Italy and at&t graciously unlocked my atrix 2 so I could buy an Italian sim/service while i'm away.

I got a plan with TIM, a popular service provider, and pay a monthly rate so I can have a fully functioning phone. The problem is that phone calls and texts seem to work except for the phone's ability to access internet data when i'm not in a wifi zone.

I have zero phone knowledge and was wondering if this is something that could maybe be fixed? Is there a discrepancy in frequency needs? I read online TIM frequency is 1800?

Any advice on what I can try doing would be greatly appreciated. I have some tech friends that can handle complicated fixings, if that's the case!

Best,
Veronica

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
If it is a case of your phone not supporting European UMTS frequencies, there's no "fix". The frequency a phone covers is determined by the hardware in the phone, not by software you can add to it.From what I know, though, the Atrix 2 covers UMTS band 1, which is European UMTS. Maybe TIM uses a different band for data?

matilde75

Sep 10, 2013
Visit site
Hi! I live in Italy, did you try to write manual APN? Maybe that could work, I have just bought a HTC One ( for German market) Sim free unlocked, my sim 3hg went OK, but I had to write APN manually. Hope it works for you too!!!

Inviato dal mio HTC One con Tapatalk 2

vsa209

Sep 30, 2013
Visit site
Hi Matilde! So if I have the TIM special package like this one here: TIM Special Full Small | TIM
would I have to be adding another package/paying more to activate internet? Even though it says 1gb internet offered in this package? I saw some sites saying that I would have to SMS a number with a special code to activate internet and they did not have me do that. I tried the manual APN!

matilde75

Sep 10, 2013
Visit site