Questions on specific use of Voice Search and Voice Commands

Sergiogio

Oct 3, 2013
Visit site
Hello,

I just ordered an Xperia ZR.
I have few experience with Android, old version 2 something. And I never used the Voice Search.
I have read the getting started of Milominderbinde (thanks!) and understood some things, but I still have doubts.

So, I am studying as a Gardner in Germany. My German is not perfect so often I feel the need to quickly search for the meaning or translation of a word.
I understood that I can search quite easily in the web with the integrated Voice Search.
But for what concerns apps it is not clear to me how much can I control them with my voice or search in their content.
For example an offline dictionary app: can I ask the phone with my voice to open the dictionary and to search for that word? Or must be the App to offer this service?
I bought this phone also to make photos to plants or to phases of the job, and then add notes to these photos, and to search later this picture for example by saying the name of the plant.
Is this possible?
I would really like to get the best out of this phone concerning Voice Search and Voice Commands, so I appreciate if you can help me to understand what I need to get the kind of control I wish. Voice Search, Google Now, Vlingo, specific Dictionaries or other Apps...
If this is already explained in some tutorial please could you provide the link? I could not find any.

Cheers and thanks for sharing.

Last edited:

Sergiogio

Oct 3, 2013
Visit site
Was there something wrong in my question?
If the info is already completely and clearly available elsewhere, be please so kind to tell me where.
I do not mean to bother with asking obvious things, I have read what I found, and I have found it not clear enough.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site