Unbrick a hard bricked Samsung Galaxy SIII Sprint/ Virgin Mobile

greenshortskid

Nov 9, 2013
Visit site
Hello, (This method will probably work with any sph-l710 samsung galaxy s III)
Sorry if this thread already exists I spent numerous hours trying to find it. I am new to android and recently learned how to un-brick my hard bricked Samsung Galaxy S III. I bricked my phone by installing a kernel not meant for my device (I know rookie mistake). Through many of these forums and YouTube I was able to figure out how to easily un-brick my device. I am new to this so everything I am posting is all I know.
This post will only cover how to un-brick a hard bricked phone using windows...but if you follow this YouTube link for virgin mobile you can un-brick your soft bricked Samsung Galaxy S III: Stock Galaxy S3 Virgin Mobile Rom - YouTube

This is the video I used to unbrick my phone so if you don't understand my instructions this is the video you should watch
most of my links I got from the video too:
Unbrick HARD BRICKED Galaxy S 3 on Verizon (i535, CDMA) - YouTube

you cannot use the debrick image however in the video so I provided my own here (Link 1):
debrick_sph_l710

Here is the .tar file to restore your Virgin Mobile phone to factory settings (Link 2):
https://mega.co.nz/#!LtIxUYDa!P6gOGWCJczy1AgQaa0q-nzgY7Qhgme-p1F3UVEeUwsA

Here is the link to the Odin version you need:
Download: Odin3v185.zip | DownloadAndroidFiles

Here is the download link to Win32DiskImager:
Download Win32 Disk Imager from SourceForge.net

I got the image from this forum and converted it to a .img file.

This forum contains the method for Sprint users, however if you are uncomfortable doing the Linux coding you can use the image above and this process
you just have to find a .tar file from sprint to flash.
[GUIDE]Unbrick a Hard Bricked SPRINT Galaxy S3 (Without JTAG) - xda-developers

Here is the link to the exact type of microSD card you need to buy depending on your storage: