First Time Basic Root

7plymaple

Jul 3, 2013
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I would like to try rooting for the first time on my Galaxy S3 SGH-i747m. I have never rooted anything before. And I recently did the update to 4.3. After asking on another forum here GSDer suggested I check out this link http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2565758

And it seems like a really good option to me. But I have also found a few other methods searchinging around on the xda forums that seem promising for my phone as well. But I am a noob and would like to get some opinions on what would suit me best. All I want is the option to do some debloating right now.

This one looks like it's worth a try too. I saw someone link it in another thread on the xda forums saying it has been updated with latest 4.3 firmware.
[SGH-I747/M] CF-Auto-Root - xda-developers

I am leaning towards the first one as it seems pretty safe and the how to vids in it seem very simple. I have the files and keys set to go on my laptop. Just thought I would ask for any advice before I go ahead.

Any suggestions and advice are much appreciated!

Thanks.

Edit: I noticed in the thread in the first link on the list of phones that root method has been successful for it does not list the SGH-i747m but it does list the SGH-i747. I read in a thread somewhere recently where people were saying a root that works for one of those should work for both. Can anyone confirm that?

Last edited:

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site