Phone Contacts not appearing under Phone > People

c0ldy

Apr 25, 2014
Visit site
Morning,

I am new to Android and the syncing features, while I'm sure useful if properly utilized, are creating a layer of complexity versus the iPhone (I have the HTC One M7). Please note that I am using this phone for work and personal purposes and do not want the two to mix. My work e-mail is through Gmail as well.

So here is my first point of confusion / fear:

-I added some contacts to my phone manually through the 'add contacts' option in the text messaging area
-concern1: when going to my Phone > People the only thing that was showing was my twitter account (and some std options like taxi etc.) and the phone added my work e-mail to this twitter account.
-concern2:side-concern related to above: Do I have to be concerned that by syncing my work contacts (all gmail) will be able to see my personal tweets etc.?
-concern3: 1) the contacts I added as mentioned above do not show under Phone > People. In fact I added the same contact under phone > people and it is still showing 0 contacts. These people are not searchable from here either.

Your help is appreciated!

Thank you,

C

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
That's because you're using an Android phone as if it was an iPhone. Contacts are added to Contacts (as Account contacts - ignore Phone and SIM contacts - you shouldn't use them in an Android phone). They're synced to Google. No one of your contacts can see any of the other of your contacts unless you give them your Google account password.

If you start playing with things - like adding contacts through another app - the only one who can guarantee what's going to happen is the person who wrote that app.