I got my first smartphone in 2009. Later my job issued me a work phone. I ended up canceling my personal line and adopting my work number as my main contact for all my personal accounts. Recently I left the job, had to get a new number and change it on all my accounts. Now at my new job I was just issued another work phone.

I want to be able to have one phone number that I can use no matter what happens to my phone situation. I really don't like carrying around two phones and I don't want to have to keep getting new numbers.

My thoughts were having a Skype number or set up Google voice. Skype has bad reviews lately and considering it wouldn't even successfully accept a $10 charge on my credit card I don't have much faith in it. Google voice seems to be dieing? But being absorbed into hangouts..?

I have no experience with either service. I'm asking any of you out there that are in similar situations: I. E. a contractor in the I.T. field that might get a new phone from various jobs every few years. Do you have a solution I am inquiring about? Or does everyone just carry two phones?

Any thoughts / tips would be appreciated!

Posted via the Android Central App
    12-07-2014 09:15 PM
    You have a few solutions here, as you seem to already know. I'll try to point out the pros and cons of each.