Here's the issue. I want the new OTA update from Verizon for Android 5.0 lollipop. However, I've removed a ton of bloatware and am afraid that if I unroot, attempt to download the OTA, then re-root, my phone will brick (because I've removed some system apps and bloatware).
    I've also considered getting the nightly CM12 lollipop updates for VS985 (verizon lg g3 variant), but I don't have TWRP and have to go through the Bump'd program (which seems a bit difficult).

I'm still running on Kit Kat which is the issue. I'm kinda new to all this, so any help is much appreciated..some guidance on which route I should go to obtain lollipop would be great.
    03-02-2015 11:43 PM
    Here's the issue. I want the new OTA update from Verizon for Android 5.0 lollipop. However, I've removed a ton of bloatware and am afraid that if I unroot, attempt to download the OTA, then re-root, my phone will brick (because I've removed some system apps and bloatware).
    I've also considered getting the nightly CM12 lollipop updates for VS985 (verizon lg g3 variant), but I don't have TWRP and have to go through the Bump'd program (which seems a bit difficult).

I'm still running on Kit Kat which is the issue. I'm kinda new to all this, so any help is much appreciated..some guidance on which route I should go to obtain lollipop would be great.
    If you do the OTA update, it shouldn't brick the device. What it will do is just take your root away and you won't be able to root again (i had a galaxy s2 a while back, and was rooted on it and i did an OTA update just fine, but it did take away the root). I have an AT&T g3, and to be honest with you, i would look into flashing a ROM. You will have much less bugs (at least from my experience and what I've heard from people running the stock firmware from lg), plus you get much more customization through a custom ROM, and i prefer as close to stock android as possible just cause it looks better in my opinion.