Updating an unlocked Android phone

amoodie

Dec 28, 2010
Visit site
Hello everyone. I'm new to Android. I just wanted to know if it is still possible to get OS updates to a Droid Pro, even if I'm using it on the Bell Canada network.

I apologize if the question is a stupid one. I've searched the forums for the answer, haven't found it.

Anyone here use unlocked American Android phones on other networks outside of the US? Can you still get updates to the OS?

natehoch96

May 23, 2010
Visit site
Hello everyone. I'm new to Android. I just wanted to know if it is still possible to get OS updates to a Droid Pro, even if I'm using it on the Bell Canada network.

I apologize if the question is a stupid one. I've searched the forums for the answer, haven't found it.

Anyone here use unlocked American Android phones on other networks outside of the US? Can you still get updates to the OS?

I'm not sure if you can get OTA (Over the Air) updates, but you still should be able to apply the update manually, I think. You might be able to download the update when it is available, put it on your phone then flash it. I am not 100 percent sure about that but it seems like it would work right?

ls377

Aug 6, 2010
Visit site
I'm not sure if you can get OTA (Over the Air) updates, but you still should be able to apply the update manually, I think. You might be able to download the update when it is available, put it on your phone then flash it. I am not 100 percent sure about that but it seems like it would work right?

I don't see why this wouldn't work, I think the only problem with an unactivated phone getting an update (in this case, unactivated with Verizon) is actually downloading the update. If you download it yourself, it should work fine.

Guamguy

Dec 28, 2010
Visit site

To answer your question yes.

I live in Guam, so I am far far away in the Pacific.