Update:
    I created about (4) new APN settings, and now the only APN I have is the default T-Mobile. I add new, but it will not allow me to save any of the APN's I create. I can type in gibberish for the name and APN name, and hit the back arrow, and that APN will be added to the list, with just those two fields I can save it, but as soon as you try to edit, and finish rest of the fields, as soon as you hit "save" the APN disappears. I starting to wonder if I have a bad sim card? I have a reader, but it does not read the newer nano sim cards.

I’ve been using Straight Talk for about five years, floating back and forth between AT&T, and T-Mobile smart phones.
    Normally this is easy as pie, and straight fwd. But so far I used about (5) different T-Mobile APN settings for my T-Mobile Galaxy Note 5, and none of them are working.
    I bought this phone off eBay, and it was less than I month old (there’s not mark on it anywhere), and it was listed as “Clean ESN”. I’ve bought several phones used via eBay, and ever had an issue. I checked the phone, and it came back clean.
    1. Rather than going on ST website, and activating my new phone, and sim card, I call support. The agent took my sim serial number, and activated it. About 30 minutes later I lost network connectivity with my former S4 phone, so I figure the Note 5 was ready to go. I went with a live person, because I was hoping to do (2) things, register the new phone/sim, and get a new phone number, as moved out of state a couple weeks ago, and want a local number. Agent said I would have to wait until Monday, call back to get a new number.
    2. I sent a text to a friend, but it didn’t go, after few minutes it would come back with a fail. After retrying I few times it finally went through. I had the same issue, with trying to call. It will have 4 or 5 bars, you make a call, then it will say “mobile network not available”, and then the signal bars turn into an X