Problems copying to SD card

Ubtree

Aug 29, 2016
Visit site
I'm new to Android, so please forgive me if this is a stupid question!

I have installed and formatted an SD card in an Android Lollipop smartphone. However, I am unable to copy files (using ES File Explorer) from the internal memory (SD0) to the SD card (SD1): when I perform the copy operation, although ES File Explorer reports that the file was successfully copied to SD1, the file does not appear on the SD drive, but a second copy of the file has been created in the internal memory!

And I'm having similar problems moving apps to the SD card: when I use the Android app manager (clicking on "Move to SD card"), the app manager reports that the app is now on the SD card, but ES File Explorer shows the files still in the internal memory.

Can anyone cast any light on this, please?

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! Which phone do you have? Older phones divide their Internal Storage into two partitions--a smaller App Installation area, and a larger "Internal SD" (that is part of internal storage, but acts like an SD card). If those phones also have an external SD card slot, then the external SD card is usually called "external SD." That may also be the reason why apps moved to SD are still in Internal Storage, because those older phones can only move apps to the "Internal SD," not the external SD.

Ubtree

Aug 29, 2016
Visit site
Many thanks for the reply, which has helped me to get some understanding of what is happening.

I thank that you're unlikely to have come across my phone: it is a De Walt MD501 - a modern, rugged phone that is almost identical to the RugGear RG730.