why does snapchat turn my phone off?

BellaBear1996

Mar 7, 2017
Visit site
downloaded snapchat on my phone. hasnt been an issue up until this month. phone is a year old, but when I use the app for even 5 minutes and it shuts my phone off. only way to turn it on is by plugging it in, why is it doing this?

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
The phone completely powers off, or does the screen just go to sleep?

Which phone is it? Try going to Settings>Apps, select Snapchat, and Clear Cache/Clear Data.

motownjunkman

May 7, 2017
Visit site
Newbie here so go easy!

I seem to having a very similar problem with Snapchat on my Nexus 5X (running Android 7.1.2 with the May patch).

If I use Snapchat to view or make a video the phone will power down even with as much as 90%% battery. A warning comes up saying something like "0% battery phone powering down" and the phone turns off.

Basically, it seems Snapchat makes my phone think it has no charge. The phone dies and won't turn on unless it's connected to the mains even though, once it's booted up again, it can still have plenty off battery left.

The attached screenshots hopefully show the complete emptying of the battery when this problem occurs and the level of battery when the phone turns on again.

I can't recreate this in Safe Mode as Snapchat isn't there and I've not tried a factory reset.

Thanks for any help!

Attachments

• Screenshot_20170507-073138.jpg
    Screenshot_20170507-073138.jpg
    101.4 KB · Views: 4
  • Screenshot_20170507-020553.jpg
    Screenshot_20170507-020553.jpg
    101.3 KB · Views: 4

motownjunkman

May 7, 2017
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! And that happens only with Snapchat? Have you already tried clearing the app cache/data (as mentioned above) or uninstalling/reinstalling the app?

Another thing to try is a cache partition wipe: https://www.androidpit.com/how-to-clear-the-cache-on-the-nexus-5x

Hi thanks for the welcome and reply!