Which budget phone is reliable for a musician and has a great battery?

Masoniker

May 4, 2018
Visit site
A background on me
I am a musician, music lover, and general audio enthusiast, who is interested in purchasing a reliable phone that is durable, features above average battery, and can capture and produce crisp/loud sound. I don’t need a $800 phone with top-of-the-line features. I want a reliable phone that would pare well with my interests.

COST: Under $500
OPERATING SYSTEM: Android
BATTERY: Lasts 24h+ under moderate use
STORAGE: 32gb+, preferably expandable

CAMERA: Able to focus at close objects, and performs well in taking darker shots
CARRIER: Unlocked and works with most carriers.
- Right now I'm on cricket but I heard cricket is going to be absorbed by AT&T so I want a phone that can do both.

OTHER FEATURES
# Good sound quality
- I want a 3.5mm aux port with...
- A good DAC,
- Loud speakers,
- And a good microphone
# Rear fingerprint scanner
- Doesn't have to be lightning fast
# Sturdy / drop resistance
- I don't want this phone to fall apart easily.
# Includes warranty
- Just in case it falls apart
# Water resistance
- I'm not planning on swimming with it, but water resistance would be nice.
# A clean UI, not filled with bloatware
- I just want simple.

pkcable

Q&A Team Leader, VR Expert
Ambassador
Jun 8, 2010
Visit site
A couple good phones to consider that may meet your desires are the Huawei Mate 9 and LG V20.

Those are excellent choices! Also consider the 2 cheaper Moto phones, the Moto X4 and the Moto G5 Plus. IF you get them on Amazon you can save a few dollars IF you accept amazon sponsored ads. They are really not as bad as it sounds, the ads just appear on the lock screen and are easily ignored. :)

Mooncatt

Ambassador
Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
I also vote for the V20, and it's my current phone for the foreseeable future. It was designed with creaters in mind.