MyTouch 4g Installation Aborted Message

johnzxc2001

Jun 21, 2011
Visit site
Hey, I have a myTouch 4g that's Perm-Rooted and True S=Off, yet, I can't custom ROMs. I've followed the step provided by ELBdelorean's "How to Flash CyanogenMod 7 Nightlies on myTouch 4G" and the Unlockr's "How To: Load a Custom ROM on the T-Mobile MyTouch 4G / HTC Glacier" videos but had no success. I have tried flashing Iced Glacier, CM7, and MIUI; every time, I get message saying installation has been aborted! Any ideas? I'm very new to this, so I apologize if this is a dumb question.

1. I am using version 3.0.2.4 of ClockworkMod.
2. I have tried using both Recovery and ROM Manager.
3. The exact error message is "Installation aborted"; it pops up while in Recovery about to seconds after I try to install the .zip ROM.

I have tried downloading them from my phone's browser, from the ROM Manger app; and I have also tried downloading them on my computers (Mac & PC) and then copying them to the root of my SD card, making sure that the files remained in .zip format. I am not sure what the md5sum is, so if you could explain, I will check it. I have searched everywhere for an answer to my problem, but have had no luck.

I hope that this is enough info. I followed the aforementioned videos to a T. The only things that are different between what I say and the video were my Recovery version and that the text was never green. Please see aforementioned videos if you are not sure what I mean. Thanks for taking time to read my post. Please let me know what you find out! : )

Mytouch 4g-Black
Perm-Rooted S-OFF
Root Method-gfree
CWR-3.0.2.4
Currently still running stock :'(

Moscow Desire

Troubleshooter
Mar 3, 2011
Visit site
Md5sum, basically means the file you downloaded, is not corrupted in any way,

Check this link;

MD5SUM

To make sure you are properly rooted, you should have an active "superuser" icon in your apps. You may have lost root.

(Yes, I see that you say you have perm-root)